The neck is one of the most crucial and vulnerable parts of your body. When a person suffers a neck injury in an auto accident, the results can be catastrophic. If you or someone you love sustained a neck injury in an accident caused by someone else’s negligence, you may be able to recover compensation through a personal injury claim. At Davis Law Center, our seasoned Michigan auto accident attorneys can examine the facts of your case and determine the viability of your claim.
The neck can be easily jarred and injured during a motor vehicle crash. In the United States, motor vehicle accidents account for approximately 37 percent of neck injuries. Approximately 50 percent of vertebral fractures are to the cervical spine. Neck injuries can take a variety of forms, including mild to severe whiplash, disc herniation, spinal cord injury, vertebral fracture, vertebral dislocation, pinched nerves, compression fracture, and complete severance of the spinal cord. It is important to note that neck injuries are not always immediately apparent.
Neck injuries from auto accidents can be life-changing because they may require extensive treatment costs. Over time, neck injuries can cause ongoing issues with chronic pain and mobility, sometimes inhibiting your ability to have a normal life. This is why Michigan law allows victims of auto accidents to recover a variety of damages, such as medical expenses, rehabilitation costs, pain and suffering, property damage, and any other losses arising from the accident.
Before any damages can be sought, however, negligence must be established. Negligence occurs when an injury or death is caused by someone’s failure to use reasonable care. Reasonable care refers to the obligation of every person to act in a prudent manner. In order to establish negligence, the following elements must be demonstrated: i) the defendant owed the plaintiff a duty of care; ii) the defendant breached the duty of care owed to the plaintiff; and iii) the defendant’s breach was a direct cause of the accident and the plaintiff’s resulting injuries.
Like all other states, Michigan has a law that limits how long you have to file a personal injury claim after an accident, known as the statute of limitations. Generally, a person has three years to file a lawsuit in civil court. Typically, this three-year window starts on the date of the accident. If you do not file the claim within that time frame, you could lose your right to compensation altogether.
Neck injuries can have devastating consequences for an individual’s life. If you or someone close to you has been injured in a Michigan auto accident, you may be able to recover compensation for your harm. At Davis Law Center, a Michigan auto accident attorney can help you understand your rights. We are here to answer your questions and address your concerns at every step of the way. To discuss your case in more detail, do not hesitate to call us at 248-865-7740 or contact us online.
More Blog Posts: